International studies: how to certify your level of French?

Nowadays, there are many reasons why some people want to claim their language certificates, especially on an international level. Also, in order to make the most of your CV, it is useful to have a number of assets and skills that will set you apart from your competitors. Nevertheless, for those who want to obtain French nationality, obtaining certifications is essential. Therefore, getting advice on how to certify your French language skills can be very helpful.

Validate your level with specialised centres

Generally, in order to validate your level of French, you just need to take certain tests beforehand, sit for your DELF. The DELF (Diploma in French language studies/ Diplôme d'Études en Langue Française), for instance, will enable you to obtain various useful certificates for your professional career at an international level. Currently managed by the CIEP, which is the International Centre for Educational Studies, the issued diplomas are intended for all types of people. Whether you are a child, a teenager or an adult, these tests will be available to you at all times to validate your level of proficiency.  

Pass the related mandatory tests

Checking your proficiency in French, or your level of English, is usually necessary to obtain certification. However, passing related exams beforehand is most often mandatory to obtain your CTF. The latter is a diploma generally intended for all foreigners over the age of 16 who are not on the French list. It is also the CIEF that will take care of the different compulsory tests during the exam. They will test your listening, writing and speaking skills.

Approving your assessment test

Nowadays, having diplomas such as the DELF (Diplôme d'Études en Langue Française/ Diploma in French language studies) can be useful in your professional endeavours. So, making sure that you have a good level of French or English beforehand is a must. The TEF, or French language assessment test, is also a crucial step in validating your test scores in the exams. Like the CTF, the latter is also dedicated to all foreigners over the age of 16 whose mother tongue is not French. 7 levels of tests are mandatory.

Plan du site